LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers is once again back! The fourth edition for LVMH Prize will recognize and support talented young fashion designers. LVMH created the LVMH Prize in 2013.

 LVMH Prize 2017

How-to Enter

The LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers is open to designers aged 40 and under who have produced and sold at least two women’s or men’s ready-to-wear collections.

Applications can be submitted exclusively on the LVMH Prize website,, through February 5, 2017.

Former winners

Grace Wales Bonner (Winner 2016)

Vejas (Special Prize 2016)

Marques’Almeida (Winner 2015)

Jacquemus (Special Prize 2015)

Thomas Tait (Winner 2014)

Hood by Air (Special Prize 2014)

Miuniku (Special Prize 2014)

This year the jury welcomes Maria Grazia Chiuri, who was appointed Creative Director of Dior last July. The twelve-member jury counts nine creative directors of LVMH Maisons –  Jonathan Anderson (Loewe), Maria Grazia Chiuri (Dior), Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo), Phoebe Philo (Céline) and Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy) – joined by Delphine Arnault (Executive Vice President of Louis Vuitton), Jean-Paul Claverie (Advisor to Bernard Arnault and Director of Corporate Patronage at LVMH) and Pierre-Yves Roussel (Chairman and CEO of the LVMH Fashion Group).

The international selection committee that establishes the shortlist of eight finalists counts 40 world-renowned fashion professionals, photographers, buyers, journalists, stylists and models, including Carine Roitfeld, Suzy Menkes and Karlie Kloss.

This year the committee welcomes seven new prominent experts, reflecting the strong commitment of LVMH, as Delphine Arnault explains: “As the leader in our industry, the LVMH Group has a special responsibility to spot tomorrow’s talents and offer them the means to grow.” In addition to a cash endowment, the LVMH Prize provides the winner with a mentorship and personal coaching to help her or him develop their business. Each year the LVMH Prize also recognizes three young fashion school graduates, who are invited to join the creative team at one of the Group’s Maisons for one year and receive a grant of 10,000 euros.

The jury will announce the winner at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in June 2017.


Prize launch: January 13th, 2017

Online applications for designers: January 13th – February 5th, 2017

Online applications for graduates: January 13th – February 5th, 2017

Selection of the eight finalists: March 2nd and 3rd, 2017

Winner selected by the Jury: mid-June 2017


Jonathan Anderson

Maria Grazia Chiuri

Nicolas Ghesquière

Marc Jacobs

Karl Lagerfeld

Humberto Leon

Carol Lim

Phoebe Philo

Riccardo Tisci

Delphine Arnault

Jean-Paul Claverie

Pierre-Yves Roussel

Panel of Experts

Emmanuelle Alt, Editor-in-Chief of Vogue Paris (Paris)

Imran Amed, Founder and Editor of Business of Fashion (London)

Sarah Andelman, Creative Director of Colette (Paris)

Glenda Bailey, Editor-in-Chief of Harper’s Bazaar US (New York)

Fabien Baron, Art Director, Founder of Baron & Baron (New York)

Tim Blanks, Editor-at-Large of Business of Fashion (London)

Derek Blasberg, Journalist (New York)

Frédéric Bodenes, Art Director of Le Bon Marché Rive Gauche (Paris)

Angelica Cheung, Editor-in-Chief of Vogue China (Beijing)

Alexandre de Betak, Founder of Bureau Betak (Paris)

Godfrey Deeny, Editor at Large, Fashion, for Le Figaro (Paris)

Patrick Demarchelier, Photographer (New York)

Babeth Djian, Editor-in-Chief of Numéro (Paris)

Miroslava Duma, Founder of Buro24/7 (Moscow)

Linda Fargo, Senior Vice President of Bergdorf Goodman (New York)

Dennis Freedman, Barneys New York Creative Director (New York)

Jo-Ann Furniss, Writer, Editor and Creative Director (London)

Chantal Gaemperle, LVMH Group Executive Vice President for Human Resources and Synergies (Paris)

Stephen Gan, Founder of Fashion Media Group LLC (New York)

Michel Gaubert, Sound Designer (Paris)

Julie Gilhart, Consultant (New York)

Ikram Goldman, Founder and CEO of ikram (Chicago)

Jefferson Hack, Co-Founder and Editorial Director of Dazed Group (London)

Laure Hériard Dubreuil, Founder and Chief Executive of the Webster (Miami)

Cathy Horyn, Editorialist at The Cut (New York)

Sylvia Jorif, Journalist at ELLE Magazine (Paris)

Karlie Kloss, Supermodel (New York)

Hirofumi Kurino, Creative Director of United Arrows (Tokyo)

Susie Lau, Journalist and Founder of (New York)

Linda Loppa, Adviser Strategy & Vision Polimoda Paris Platform (Paris)

Pat McGrath, Makeup Artist (New York)

Suzy Menkes, Vogue International Editor (Paris and New York)

Virginie Mouzat, Fashion Editor-in-Chief of Vanity Fair France (Paris)

Sarah Mower, Contributing Editor of Vogue US (London)

Hidetoshi Nakata, Football and Fashion Icon (Tokyo)

Peter Philips, Makeup Artist (Antwerp)

Gaia Repossi, Creative Director of Repossi (Paris)

Carine Roitfeld, Founder of CR Fashion Book (Paris)

Marie-Amelie Sauvé, Stylist and Editor of Mastermind (Paris)

Anne-Florence Schmitt, Editor of Madame Figaro (Paris)

Carla Sozzani, Founder of 10 Corso Como (Milan)

Stefano Tonchi, Editor-in-Chief of W Magazine (New York)

Natalia Vodianova, Supermodel and Philanthropist (Paris)

Leave a Reply